4heads Presents

PORTAL HOUSE: GOVERNORS ISLAND
Collaborative Residency & Exhibition Featuring Site-Specific Installations on Historic Colonels Row


Collaborative Residency & Exhibition Featuring Site-Specific Installations on Historic Colonels Row

4heads, best known for its annual Governors Island and Portal Art Fairs, invites you to join us for a new fall season of creativity in our 15th Anniversary year.

Experience immersive environments created by 4heads’ summer artists-in-residence.

September Open Studios: Saturday September 17th & Sunday September 18th 11am-5pm

October Open Studios: Saturday October 8th & Sunday October 9th 11am-5pm

Culminating Exhibition: Saturday October 22nd & Sunday October 23rd 11-5pm

Buildings 408A & 408B and on The Adjacent Outdoor Lawns on Colonels Row

This collaboration-based residency/incubator provides pairs of resident artists indoor and outdoor spaces to create site-specific environments with the theme of “At Rest & In Motion” as a jumping off point for inspiration and exploration. Collaborators range from a stratum of seasoned, mid-career, and emerging artist partnerships (some mentor/mentee) and reflect a mix of media and disciplines, from painting and drawing to sculpture and sound, from written and spoken word poetry to animation and projection – and also featuring our Art Education Incubator, Shelter In Place, cohort – each artist-collaboration transforming their individual rooms, connective spaces, and some exterior outdoor spots, and culminating in an exhibition for presentation in Building 408A & 408B on Colonels Row and on the adjacent outdoor lawns.

4heads leadership invited artists from across its vast network to submit proposals for consideration to participate in the 2022 fall Portal House: At Rest & In Motion collaborative residency and exhibition. The 4heads’ network includes artists who have previously participated in Portal:GI art fairs as well as in its residency and education programs. We are hosting this special collaboration-based residency featuring the artist selected and in partnership with another artist of their choosing – while not mandatory that their partner had shown with us before, we requested that the chosen partner be someone who will love the spaces as much as we do and will think big and creatively about the spaces and theme, both for their residency time and the culminating site-specific installation presentation. With 22 indoor artists, and 10+ outdoor artists featured, you can follow us on Instagram for a sneak peek @4heads_nyc.

Follow us on Instagram for a sneak peek @4heads_nyc.


Portal House Artists:

Participating Portal House Artists:

Indoor Artists:

Henry Chung @henryxchung 

& Robert Walden robertjwalden.com


Shiri Mordecay @shiri_mordechay 

& Robert Soffian @robertsoffianart 


Ethan Minsker @ethanminsker 

& Helixx Armageddon @helixxwashere


Susan Camp @susancampart

& Traci Molloy @tracimolloy


Greg Emery @greggvemery

& Jackie Braje @poetrysocietyny


Kyle Luntz @kyle.luntz

& Helena Chung @gizzardshad_


Tim Fite @timfite

& Ricky Sallay Zoker @rickysallay


Andrea Kastner andreakastner.net

& Frank Chang @frnkchng 


Pablo Lopez @caravaca1

& Tansy Xiao tansyxiao.com


Lauren Petty & Shaun Irons @automaticreleasenyc / shaunironseye

& Brian Rogers @brianjamesrogers


Amy Sinclair @asaintclair

& Simona Prives simonaprives.com



Education Incubator:

Shelter In Place cohort @shelteringovernors 



Outdoor Artists: 

Margaret Roleke @margaretroleke

& Martha Lewis @marthawillettelewis


Miggy Buck @miggybuck

& Kate Lawless @katharinelawless


Jean Foos @foosnyc

& Stephen Talasnik @stephentalasnik


Abraham McNally @abeMcNally

& Gregory McNally 


Matthew Callinan mattchallinan.com

& Collaborator


Vallerie Haller @multiplemedia_artist

& (Technical Advisor) Katherine Bennet @ladykstudios 

More Outdoor Artists announced soon…


Check out our:

2021 Artist interviews›

Recap video – Portal: GI 2019›


Stay Tuned…

We’ll be dropping more details as we get closer to Second Session Portal dates:  starting mid-August, the second session will be designed as a shorter residency, accommodating four times as many artists in partner collaborations. This second session will be a four month residency with the theme of “At Rest & In Motion” and center around creative approaches to the collaborations and theme.

2016_portal_bar

Created by artists, for artists

4heads is the New York City non-profit organization created by artists for artists that has produced Portal: Governors Island (formerly known as Governors Island Art Fair) since 2008. Touted as New York’s largest independent exhibition, Portal: GI welcomes over 40,000 visitors annually in New York Harbor.

Our mission as an artist-created organization, is to cultivate a supportive community by hosting free large-scale art fairs and studio residency programs for under-represented artists, and by tailoring arts education programs for underserved youth. With a strong focus on artistic excellence and inclusion, we revitalize historic spaces with contemporary art, as we continue to enrich and expand our creative community: a socially, economically, and culturally diverse reflection of New York City itself.

2016_portal_bar

Give from the heart – for the future of art!


Join Our Mailing List

* = required field

@4heads_NYC