4heads Presents

“At Rest & In Motion”
Collaborative Residency & Exhibition Featuring Site-Specific Installations on Historic Colonels Row


It’s Almost Here!
Portal Exhibition & 15th Anniversary Year Festivities
Come Join Us in Celebration!

4heads, best known for its annual Governors Island and Portal Art Fairs, invites you to experience immersive environments created by 4heads’ fall session collaborative artists-in-residence.

Culminating Exhibition
Saturday October 22nd & Sunday October 23rd 12-5pm
Buildings 408A & 408B and on The Adjacent Outdoor Lawns on Colonels Row

15th Anniversary Year Celebration On The Lawn
Come for the Art, Stay for the Celebration!
2-4pm
Live Music
Wine and/or Beer

Follow us on Instagram for a sneak peek @4heads_nyc.

Join us in celebrating 4heads 15th Anniversary year on the island and see what 2022 Ses­sion II Artists in Res­i­dence have been working on for Portal Exhibition weekend. 4heads invited pairs of indoor, outdoor, and art education cohort artists to be a part of a col­lab­o­ra­tion-based fall residency/​incubator, cre­ating site-spe­cif­ic envi­ron­ments with the theme of ​“At Rest & In Motion” as a jump­ing off point for inspi­ra­tion and explo­ration that culminates in this Exhibition. Col­lab­o­rat­ing artists include:


Portal House Artists:

Participating Portal House Artists:

Indoor Artists:

Henry Chung @henryxchung 

& Robert Walden robertjwalden.com


Shiri Mordecay @shiri_mordechay 

& Robert Soffian @robertsoffianart 


Ethan Minsker @ethanminsker 

& Helixx Armageddon @helixxwashere


Susan Camp @susancampart

& Traci Molloy @tracimolloy


Greg Emery @greggvemery

& Jackie Braje @poetrysocietyny


Kyle Luntz @kyle.luntz

& Helena Chung @gizzardshad_


Tim Fite @timfite

& Ricky Sallay Zoker @rickysallay


Andrea Kastner andreakastner.net

& Frank Chang @frnkchng 


Pablo Lopez @caravaca1

& Tansy Xiao tansyxiao.com


Lauren Petty & Shaun Irons @automaticreleasenyc / shaunironseye

& Brian Rogers @brianjamesrogers


Amy Sinclair @asaintclair

& Simona Prives simonaprives.com



Education Incubator:

Shelter In Place cohort @shelteringovernors 



Outdoor Artists: 

Margaret Roleke @margaretroleke

& Martha Lewis @marthawillettelewis


Miggy Buck @miggybuck

& Kate Lawless @katharinelawless


Jean Foos @foosnyc

& Stephen Talasnik @stephentalasnik


Abraham McNally @abeMcNally

& Gregory McNally 


Matthew Callinan mattchallinan.com

& Collaborator


Vallerie Haller @multiplemedia_artist

& (Technical Advisor) Katherine Bennett @ladykstudios 

More Outdoor Artists announced soon…


Check out our:

2021 Artist interviews›

Recap video – Portal: GI 2019›

2016_portal_bar

Created by artists, for artists

4heads is the New York City non-profit organization created by artists for artists that has produced Portal: Governors Island (formerly known as Governors Island Art Fair) since 2008. Touted as New York’s largest independent exhibition, Portal: GI welcomes over 40,000 visitors annually in New York Harbor.

Our mission as an artist-created organization, is to cultivate a supportive community by hosting free large-scale art fairs and studio residency programs for under-represented artists, and by tailoring arts education programs for underserved youth. With a strong focus on artistic excellence and inclusion, we revitalize historic spaces with contemporary art, as we continue to enrich and expand our creative community: a socially, economically, and culturally diverse reflection of New York City itself.

2016_portal_bar

Give from the heart – for the future of art!


Join Our Mailing List

* = required field

@4heads_NYC